Unplugging from the world and focusing on God

on

I guess now I’ve joined the tons of other bloggers who have already blogged about this topic but since the issue I’m about to address is practically a pandemic, maybe that’s a bit of an exaggeration, or is it?  I think one more blog about the adverse effects of too much social media and binge watching tv shows/movies couldn’t do any harm. I’ve been meaning to blog about this for a while.

If you’re on Facebook, like most people today are,  then you may have seen at least one person on your friends-list at some point threaten to leave Facebook.

8765892_f520

 

You may have even made a post about leaving social media yourself. I know I have several times, lol.

52fb7d297fbcf335f8c60d41fda80dc3_create-your-own-meme-i-wrote-leaving-facebook-meme_400-400

Today, I noticed a friend of mine on Facebook who left Facebook, like he really LEFT Facebook, like for real real, lol, poof, gone, adios Facebook amigos. It shouldn’t be surprising to see someone who actually went through with their decision to get off of social media, but because sooooo many people say it and never do it this really made me think there is hope after all, lol.

4ded47bf-eaf3-4128-b827-c4c7ef77896b

It’s not breaking news or fake news, lol, that many people today have a serious social media addiction, I know I used to, but now I have found a way to totally unplug and prioritize my time and it really was as easy as the click or swipe of a button.

 

That’s right, I turn my wifi off. And just like that I’m a free woman.

600365_404911-sound
I turn my wifi off before bed and I don’t turn it on again until I have done what I needed to do in the morning when I get up. I intentionally don’t put data packages on my phone, not only to save money, but because I use that as a way to not be staring down at my phone when I go out in public or I’m at the dinner table or something.

geico_o_1428499

However, this has not stopped me from occasionally searching for wifi when I’m sitting alone eating lunch or I’m somewhere standing on a long line, in cases like that wifi or data is a state of emergency, lol,

AAEAAQAAAAAAAAipAAAAJDlkY2QxMjE2LWIzNDEtNDNkYS1iNWYyLTk4YTlhYjBlYzk0Zg

or I could just do a really wild and crazy thing like actually talk to other people, oooooooh

maya-rudolph-shocked-face

I realized how the last thing I used to do before going to bed was check notifications and the first thing I did when I woke up was check notifications. When I would decide to go and do something else more productive like reading/studying my Bible (which is most beneficial in life) or do some things around the house or just do something, anything, besides spend 400 hours on Facebook or binge watching something, I would hear that notification sound that would draw me like a magnet.

For me as a believer I couldn’t help but realize how much time I had been wasting in my life on worthless things. Binge watching tv shows or movies online just sucked away so much time in my life and I realized the more time I spent on things of the world the less time I spent with God and gradually I was growing dull in regards to my sharpness in the word and my steadfastness in the faith; I even began to find reading my Bible as just not appealing and none of that is a good sign.

Being on social media isn’t all bad, in fact there are persons I know who use social media to spread the good news of God’s word and encourage others in the Lord, and there are those who are on social media for work related reasons and whatever else. I’m not talking about any of that I’m just talking about getting priorities straight and being able to control these things and not have them control us. There is a scripture in the Bible that says, “Do you not know that when you offer yourselves as obedient slaves, you are slaves to the one you obey, whether you are slaves to sin leading to death, or to obedience leading to righteousness?” Romans 6:16 That scripture, in context, is speaking about being slaves of sin or being obedient to God’s word which leads to righteousness, but are we slaves of social media, and in some cases even the internet,  today?
7dvsds

Apostle Paul said, ““Everything is permissible for me,” but not everything is beneficial. “Everything is permissible for me,” but I will not be mastered by anything.” 1 Corinthians 6:12. 

Basically, we have freedoms in Christ and are free to do many things BUT we mustn’t allow these things to become our master, and some things are honestly just not beneficial in ant way to our growth in Christ Jesus the Lord. The freedoms we received in Jesus Christ were really given for us to love one another not to use as a cloak for vices as Apostle Peter said in 1 Peter 2:16 and  Apostle Paul said in Galatians 5:13, “For you, brothers, were called to freedom; but do not use your freedom as an opportunity for the flesh. Rather, serve one another in love.”

As believers nothing should take the place of God in our lives or take priority over quality time with God in prayer and studying His word. I’m not claiming to be perfect with this but I’m certainly pressing towards perfection in all areas in my life, including how I use my time, through Christ strengthening me and God’s grace. I hope others can be encouraged as well to put God first, not just say it but do it.

“But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves. For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man observing his natural face in a mirror; for he observes himself, goes away, and immediately forgets what kind of man he was. But he who looks into the perfect law of liberty and continues in it, and is not a forgetful hearer but a doer of the work, this one will be blessed in what he does.” James 1:22-25

focussed-2Bon-2Bgod

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Brenda says:

    Hi Sateigdra,
    I have to admit that I came off Facebook because I found it boring to hear people saying what they had for breakfast and that they were stood at a bus stop etc… It is good if it suits a person, but it did not suit me. I like blogging because it is sharing experiences regarding our faith, but even that I can only do when I feel inspired to do it.
    However, what takes up most of my time in this world is the Lord and God’s Word spoken to me. That is foremost and I love it. He has far more to offer than worldly things have.

    1. SLRK says:

      Amen, Brenda. God does have far more to offer than worldly things. Thanks for dropping by. God bless you. 😃😃😃

Leave a Reply

